Skip to content

Running in the rain

March 11, 2010

Are you an outdoor or indoor runner? Do you prefer the open road and varied conditions or the controlled environment of a gym?

Almost every runner I know that travels more than a couple miles at a time would chose to run outdoors. The outdoors offers changing scenery, unpredictable conditions and an overwhelming sense of accomplishment. There is something utterly gratifying about traveling from one destination to another by foot. As Juha Väätäinen said “Stadiums are for spectators. We runners have nature and that is much better. ”

As much as I love to run outdoors, I lament doing it while raining. If that rain goes beyond a light drizzle I am one of the first in line for my place in the comfy, cozy gym. I don’t know what it is, why can’t I enjoy running in the rain?

Every now and then I’ll see somebody running in the rain and they almost always have a smile on their face. What is it about their mindset and view of life that allows them to enjoy running in the rain, but not me?

I’d like to blame my aversion to running in the rain on level-headedness. I think to myself, “if I run in these wet conditions I will ruin my shoes, vaporize my ipod and get sick.” In reality, I can always pull out the old running shoes, leave the ipod at home and take a warm shower as soon as the run is over. Its not the external factors, so what is it? Somebody explain it to me. Why do some people love to run in the rain and others don’t?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

